Taking it far too seriously

I realised recently that I take myself far too seriously. I looked over some of my previous posts and I’m just like… shut up. No one cares, go away, go and crawl into a fridge and don’t bother me any more. I’m very thirsty at the moment and I’m listening to some band called Skiffle? Scifful? Skiff fall? Something like that 🙂 And they’re awesome and sort of cheesy and cute and I love it.

Recently I watched three of my favourite films- Notting Hill, Music and Lyrics and About A Boy. (Btw, my favourite out of those is probably About a Boy)If you have watched all of these films then you’ll know that they’re all Hugh Grant films. As far as actors go, High Grant is one of my absolute favourites. Why? He doesn’t take himself too seriously. He’s a terrific actor, he’s hilarious, he’s successful and he seems nice. He’s interesting. Whereas those who do take themselves seriously, well… they seem nice but boring, like people you’d avoid at a dinner party.

Goodreads Quotes tells me that David Bowie once said, “I’m always amazed that people take what I say seriously. I don’t even take what I am seriously.” and that Madonnna said, “I laugh at myself. I don’t take myself completely seriously. I think that’s another quality that people have to hold on to… you have to laugh, especially at yourself.” Kurt Vonnegut however said, “I have had all I can stand of not taking myself seriously.” But eh, I know not very much of this Kurt Vonnegut other than what I read in The Universe Versus Alex woods and his photograph seems rather grumpy. So I will go with the first two. I think that I’ve had enough of taking myself seriously. It’s boring. So…. um yeah. Seriousness out of the window, it is time to lighten up.

Leave a Reply

